Mayoral Combined Authority

South Yorkshire is unique in being made up of the Mayoral Combined Authority (MCA), four local authorities: Sheffield, Barnsley, Rotherham and Doncaster; the Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) and the SCR Executive Team.

The Mayor, Dan Jarvis is a major figure in the political life of the area, an ambassador promoting it as a place to live, work, visit and invest.

The South Yorkshire Devolution Deal has brought an additional £30m a year for economic growth, as well as power over the adult education budget totalling around £35m each year and additional powers, in areas including transport, skills, and housing.

Decision making processes are governed by the South Yorkshire Mayor who chairs the Mayoral Combined Authority and the LEP which has 4 Thematic Boards focused on:

  • Business Recovery and Growth;
  • Education, Skills and Employability;
  • Transport and the Environment; and
  • Housing and Infrastructure.

As a combined Mayoral Local Authority and Local Enterprise Partnership, we have autonomy over our decision making with regards to investors and businesses looking to relocate here.